Writing in Vegas
Writing in Vegas

A commitment to writing is like a commitment to recovery. You’ve gotta take it one day at a time. You’ve gotta wake up and say, “Today, I will not drink” or “Today, I will write.” You must renew that commitment over and over. And some days, it’s a lot harder than others. Be gentle with yourself. Ask for help if you need it. If you can only muster a single sentence, you have honored your commitment.

Today, I began by reflecting on this passage in Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the Bones:

“A long time ago I read Jack Kerouac’s essentials for prose. Four of them, in particular, have provided me with heart for the path: • Accept loss forever • Be submissive to everything, open, listening • No fear or shame in the dignity of your experience, language, and knowledge • Be in love with your life.”

And even though for the past several days, I’ve been in Sin City, where I could spend days distracted from my goals, I’m making the time to write.

So whaddya think?

