I published the story of how before I became a national poetry slam chick, I used to be a cringing poetry chicken. It’s all about using magic to move past what we are afraid of and how to claim what we really want.

 I cringed inside every time he said it.

“This is Marya. She’s a poet.”

I was ashamed. His introduction made me feel like an imposter.

  • Even though I’d been writing poetry since I was young.
  • Even though I’d taken poetry workshop classes in college.
  • Even though I’d published literary magazines.
  • Even though I’d read and performed poems publicly.
  • Even though my poems had been published.

Other writers will understand. Something about calling myself a poet felt self-important. Pretentious. I didn’t feel like I deserved to be called a poet because I wasn’t a Great American Poet.

I tried to explain, “Poet, author, artist, musician… one does not just bandy these terms about.”

You can read the rest of it here at my Wholly Creative blog where I discuss some of the Hermetic principles of magic that helped me manifest what my heart really desired.

Practical Magic with date banner-2

Learn more at PracticalMagicForWriters.com.

2 thoughts on “Magical Confessions of a Poetry Chick(en); or How to Manifest What Your Heart Desires

  1. Very interesting! I cringe and feel that self-important shame wash over me, every time I’m told that I should write a book. Part of me says yes, I can help so many, the other part says self-indulgent dreamer.

    1. Yes, claiming our role takes a certain amount of audacity. I hope you read the other half of the blog about how I moved through the fear. I’m sure you can do it, too!

So whaddya think?